Why You’re Not Getting A Christmas Gift From Me!

It was another crazy week at our house, but what else is new? That said, you won’t be hearing much from me this weekend. I have a literary agent asking for the first 50 pages of Literary Crazy. (EEEEK!) I will be spending my weekend working on polishing this and taking care of Diesel….which brings me to “Why you’re not getting a Christmas gift from me….”

1201161229a.jpg

This is Diesel. He is a chocolate Labrador and will be 18 next month. YES! 18 years old! That’s OLD for a dog, especially a large breed like a Lab.

While Diesel will be fine in a few weeks, the cast on his arm came in at the tune of $978.00.

Diesel and Baker, our mutt, have been fighting for Alpha Dog position since Bill and I merged our packs. Ultimately Diesel won (not without a few stitches and one drain to the face for Baker) but as Diesel gets older, we think Baker senses Diesel getting weaker and wants to now finally move up to numero uno.

I don’t know what provoked the fight. I was inside while all the dogs were out in the HUGE yard (they had plenty of room to not bother each other). I heard the fight and ran out side to find Baker had Diesel pinned to the ground. In the dark, I had to step in-between two fighting dogs and pull Baker off Diesel. Of course Bill wasn’t home, but after I called for about the tenth time, he answered and came home to take Diesel to the Emergency Vet. I’m pretty sure we will be paying rent on our file soon enough.

Bill and I aren’t into making Christmas commercial anyway, not to mention we are trying to buy a house…oh, and did I mention Diesel’s vet bill was almost one grand???

So if there was any doubt about getting a gift from me this holiday season, you can rest assured I’m only shopping for the kids this year!

I hope everyone has a great weekend. Do you have any plans? While I’ll be working on Literary Crazy all weekend, I am still on track for Monday Book Club. (It’s a short book this week!) Let’s meet back here on Monday!

Leave a comment